BISTROre- (Yatap)

Hello, and welcome to winter!

Okay, I know that’s not true and that winter is still 6 weeks away, but… the temperature suddenly took a precipitous drop in Korea yesterday, such that overnight temperatures dropped below freezing for the first time this season. That made for a short fall… it was only less than a month ago that I could still pull off wearing short sleeves during the day. Oh well. It’s cold now, so that means I’ll now be spending more time inside, and that means I’ll now be spending productive time on this blog again!

But I’m gonna cheat a little bit this time. My posting today (apart from two article links a few minutes ago), is not really of a proper café, but rather a bistro. But they serve coffee there, and it’s such a cool place that I’ll post it for your benefit… and I guess to give them a miniscule bit of online promotion as well. 😉

Today’s post is about BISTROre-.

BISTROre- at Yatap, May 2010
BISTROre- at Yatap, May 2010

Separator - Light green wave

I’ll keep it short and simple since it’s more than a café, and so kind of out of the scope of this blog. BISTROre- is … well, I’ll let their signpost speak for itself (remember to click or touch to enlarge if the sign letters are too small):

Signpost outside Bistro-RE, November 2010
Signpost outside Bistro-RE, November 2010

Yup, they do a lot there, and they do coffee too. But I didn’t get coffee there my first few times. I got things like these:

French fries at Bistro-RE, November 2010
French fries at Bistro-RE, November 2010
Sandwich at Bistro-RE, November 2010
Sandwich at Bistro-RE, November 2010
Brownie (to go) at Bistro-RE, November 2010
Brownie (to go) at Bistro-RE, November 2010

So yeah, high quality french fries and sandwiches. Common in the US, but not so common in Korea. And in addition to being high quality, they were also delicious and stylish.

Here’s a closer shot of their entrance, and as you can see, they painted sometime in 2010.

BISTROre-, November 2020
BISTROre-, November 2010

I finally got some coffee there next year:

Iced vanilla latte at Bistro re-, May 2011
Iced vanilla latte at Bistro re-, May 2011

And finally, some more great dishes:

Pizza with avocado slices at Bistro RE, March 2012
Pizza with avocado slices at Bistro RE, March 2012
Friend's dish at Bistro RE, March 2012
Friend’s dish at Bistro RE, March 2012
Avocado pizza at Bistro-RE, April 2013
Avocado pizza at Bistro-RE, April 2013
Pesto pasta at Bistro-RE, April 2013
Pesto pasta at Bistro-RE, April 2013
Bistro RE- on a summer night, September 2013
Bistro RE- on a summer night, September 2013
Bistro RE- french fries, September 2013
Bistro RE- french fries, September 2013
Bistro RE- french fries and grilled chicken sandwich, September 2013
Bistro RE- french fries and grilled chicken sandwich, September 2013
Bistro RE- - Jessica's chocolate gâteau, at home, September 2013
Bistro RE- – Jessica’s chocolate gâteau, at home, September 2013

What can I say? The pictures are making me hungry, and the food every time was very delicious.

The place is very cozy and bustling. Unfortunately, I seem to have not taken any interior pictures. But! I found another WordPress blogger who did, and posted about BISTROre- just a few days before I arrived in Korea. ^^ Ah yes, the ordering notepad that you can see in one of the pictures there is a nice touch.

The baristas, I mean, waitresses (I don’t recall having been attended by a guy there) have always been rather friendly, and some tended to remember me, and even my name. So BISTROre-‘s service is excellent. Most recently, the waitress named Jessica also happened to make a cake that was served there, a chocolate gâteau, and she certainly did an excellent job!

So where is this gem of a bistro? Unfortunately, it’s always been a bit of a hike for me to get to. It’s not someplace I could go regularly, even if I wanted to. But if you live in northern Bundang, you’re in luck! BISTROre- is just a few blocks from Yatap station, towards the Tancheon and across from a small tributary of the Tancheon, which I just learned is called the Yeosucheon. {cheon, or 천, comes from the Chinese character 川, and therefore means “stream”}. Almost every time that I went there, or maybe every time, I took a stroll along one or both of these streams. The streams and the bistro definitely make Yatap worth visiting. For precise directions, please see below after the break.

BISTROre- is a great place for dinner alone, with friends, or on a date. And it’s good for coffee too. I definitely try to return whenever I can.

Ah, one more thing. I’ve always pronounced it’s name “bistro reh”, but apparently that’s wrong. From the Korean spelling of their name, it’s actually “bistro R E”. Hm, I kinda liked saying “reh”, maybe nobody will notice if I continue to do so…….

Separator - Light green wave

Here’s a link to a Google Map to find BISTROre-.

And here’s a link to a Naver Map of BISTROre-.

Address:  경기도 성남시 분당구 야탑동 342-1 리더스빌딩 114호

Korean name:  비스트로 알이

Website:  http://www.bistrore.com

Final verdict:  *****

Separator - Drop shadow

Update! – November 17, 2016

Unfortunately, sometime in 2015 or 2016, BISTROre- transformed into a Chinese restaurant, RE-China.

Separator - Drop shadow

Leave a Reply

