cacao green (Samseong-dong – Coex)

One day, wandering through the web of Coex, wayfaring through the wonders of one too many won-wanting locales, I stumbled upon another interesting sounding place… cacao green! By now you know, any café with a hint of chocolate in its name will immediately draw me like moths to a flame. There will be a few more of those places before this blog is done. 😀 Anyway, it was a hot August day. In case you had any doubts, August in Korea = hot. So if I go out anywhere, I just want to go inside. So, the air-conditioned labyrinth of Coex is a great place to pass a few hours away. I did, and in passing through one of the food court areas, I saw cacao green.

cacao green beside redmango in Coex, August 2010
cacao green beside redmango in Coex, August 2010

Separator - Light green wave

But I didn’t go in! As you can see, it was right next to and connected to redmango, the yogurt place. I’ve seen redmango both in Seattle and in Korea, and I’ve never been to it, but this was the first time I had seen a “cacao green” with it. Looked like a new concept. And it looked like they knew and respected their chocolate, as their display highlighted organic chocolate:

organic cacao display at cacao green in Coex, August 2010
organic cacao display at cacao green in Coex, August 2010

But I didn’t go in. Must have been full or already had coffee or dessert. But I took the pictures and noted the place in my mind for a future rare trip to Coex.

I didn’t go to Coex again until the next summer, and even though I went twice, I still didn’t end up going for one reason or another. Finally I went to Coex again in December to watch a movie with friends, and after the movie and after the dinner, I suggested cacao green to them.

cacao green (with redmango) at Coex, December 2011
cacao green (with redmango) at Coex, December 2011

I had a really delicious 75% hot chocolate. But I didn’t take a picture, maybe because I was too distracted with my friends. It happens sometimes. Oh well.

Ah, notice how in the last picture, there is a display for a “fondant au chocolat”? Hmmm, another reference to or attempted copy of the tasty I’m Home treat, the glorious fondant chocolat.

Overall, being deep in a shopping mall dings a few points from cacao green, but the drink I had was really delicious.

Final verdict:  ****

Separator - Drop shadow

Leave a Reply

